Prologue

A letter through the door, explaining everything we already have known for this last couple of weeks and more. We are locked down. No leaving the house but for essential basics, a small bit of exercise and fresh air…no social interaction.

Last day at work before I was Furloughed.

I’ve been Furloughed from work. This means my simple journey from my town to my workplace on public transport was deemed too dangerous to undertake, and my workplace was deemed as a luxury location, rather than an essential. I, like so many others, am on a leave of absence supposedly lasting up until the end of May at least.

I have wanted a period hibernation for so long. But not like this. Not a pandemic. Not the daily reminders of the harrowing conditions under which human lives try to save other human lives. Not heartbreaking image after heartbreaking image of the faces of the deceased. Not sitting watching things unfold in the media as they do, powerless to do anything to help. Not being bombarded by memes on my phone and happy-go-lucky sentiments of “it’s gonna be alright”.

But this is the nature of the time I have been given. And so I have decided to try to use it wisely for he things I have wanted for some time to do.

The Early Days

Notes on the Historical Royal Fashion course I started.

When my time off work started, I was told I was going to have to work from home. This assumption did not last long. Although I work at a heritage site, I unfortunately work in retail and admissions there. So, instead of making us do enforced research, we were all furloughed. This was a welcome change to the time off rather than having to conform to a pre-proposed plan or action. It was with much relief that I, one week into my time off, was able to embark upon solo projects.

LEARNING

I can write quite well. Whether that is evidenced by this blog or not is entirely up to you, dear reader. That said, I want to utilise my natural talents in word craft at some stage during my career, and so this didn’t seem like a half bad time to try to do it. With that in mind, I signed up for an online copywriting course, and have also subscribed to Masterclass. I hope to make it through the majority of both these during my time off.

I’ve also picked up practicing bassoon and piano again, and am hoping to put in more effort in learning the flute in absence of my weekly lessons at present.

FASHIONABLY LATE…TO REMOTE TEAPARTIES

Innocent World OP worn for an online crafting meet and teaparty.

I usually am seldom able to wear EGL fashion while at home. I live in a small town and while I’d do anything to be the Momoko of this place, people talk and my parents are paranoid. However, lockdown has brought EGL teaparties to me remotely and given me ample opportunities to dress nicely and hang out with lovely, frilly individuals from the various fashion communities I’ve been a part of.

TEXTURE: an April Fools coord ♡

Once we are all dressed up and on zoom together, we tend to just chat, play Animal Crossing and do crafts. It is especially fun to play AC together because we can visit each other’s islands wearing cute clothes in the game while dressed cute in real life. My favourite occasion has been when I partook in an Animal Crossing “Hanami” event at my friend Helena’s island and zoomed with a several of my friends, as well as several new friends made that day!

Photoshop is a kawaii girl’s best friend xD
Remote Twinning #alldressedup ♡

Another thing I have partaken in remote twinning with a friend of mine ♡ we coorded our matching “Alice and her Black Cat” pieces by Baby the Stars Shine Bright”. I am so pleased I got to do this: I even edited the photo in the purikura style.

That’s all from me this time. I want to write about so many things during these days… ♡ I hope my writing about something fanciful and positive draws your mind away from the negativities we all are facing right now in reality.

Love and light to all!

Lu xx

 

Leave a comment